First Flight

Welcome!

Far Flown Falcon is the musical identity of James Conder, a songwriter, singer and fingerstyle guitarist. Now enough of speaking in the third person!

The idea behind this blog is twofold. First of all, I’m a little abashed to say, it’s about self-promotion. I want to use this blog to share my songs – and I hope you enjoy them.

But besides straightforward narcissism, I also want to use this blog to explore the craft of songwriting from the point of view of someone who loves to write songs but isn’t quite comfortable calling himself a true musician. I’ve only had a handful of guitar lessons in my life and no guidance in how to write a song beyond what I’ve read . . . and more importantly, listened to. Writing songs has been an adventure of creative expression for over a decade and a half, and it’s a journey that continues to throw up questions, challenges and successes. I hope this blog will share some of these moments, but also open a dialogue with other songwriters on how they approach their craft.

Likewise, I’ll also be blogging about continuing to develop as a guitar player, with particular emphasis on fingerstyle guitar playing. For the last few years I’ve been playing largely solo, so my focus is on creating interesting accompaniments to my songs within the constraints of just six strings and two hands.

Far Flown Falcon.docx

This blog will also touch on the songwriting of other artists both large and small, and I hope that I might be able to convince some fellow songwriters to contribute guest posts on their own songwriting and guitar playing.

James Conder

August 2015

First Flight

Leave a Reply

